Written by Adeoye Yusuf Category: Nigeria Last Updated: Monday, 10 July 2017 16:43 Hits: 7961


The Federal Republic of Nigeria covers an area of 923,768 sq. km on the shores of the Gulf of Guinea. It has Benin on its Western side, Niger on the North, Chad to the north-east and Cameroon to the east and south-east. Its November 1991 census stood at 88,514,501 and has risen above 120 million currently. It is the most populated country in Africa. Its population is extremely diverse with well over 250 ethnic groups, some numbering fewer than 10,000 people.

Ten ethnic groups including Hausa-Fulani, Yoruba, Ibo, Kanuri, Tiv, Edo, Nupe, Ibibio and Ijaw account for nearly 80% of the total population. Most of its population is concentrated in the southern part of the country, as well as in the area of dense settlement around Kano in the north. Between the two areas is a sparsely populated middle belt.

Follow this link to Read More ABOUT NIGERIA



To enter Nigeria, a valid passport and visa are required for nationals of virtually all countries. Passports must be valid for at least 6 months after period of intended stay. All visitors to Nigeria must hold passports or ECOWAS traveling documents (for nationals from ECOWAS member countries such as ). Citizens of countries for which Nigeria requires visas must obtain entry information and visas in advance from Nigerian embassies or consulates abroad. Visas cannot be obtained aboard planes or at the airport.

Follow this link to read more on NIGERIA GUIDE


Abuja: Plot 09, Justice Mamman Nasir Str,
Asokoro, Abuja. Tel: +234-9-413-2840/41,
Lagos: 203 Etim Iyang Crescent,
Victoria Island Extension,
P. O Box 55238, Falomo, Lagos
Tel: +234-1-262-4017,

Abuja: No 31 Pope John Paul II,
Off Gana Street, Maitama, Abuja
Tel: +234-9-413-4164–5
Lagos: 5 Kasunmu Ekemode Street,
Victoria Island, Lagos. Tel: +234-1-261-1135

Abuja: Plot 1611
Abubakar Koko Crescent, Maitama Sule Street, Asokoro, P.O.Box 5124 Wuse, Abuja
Tel: +234-9-314-8680,
Lagos: 93 Awolowo Road, S.W Ikoyi,
PO Box 51940, Ikoyi, Lagos
Tel: +234-1-269-0093; Fax: +234-1-269-0117

Abuja: 5th Floor Oakland Centre,
48 Aguiyi Ironsi St, Maitama, Abuja
Tel: +234-9-461-2780; Fax: +234-9-461-2782
Office Hours: Mon–Thurs 08.00am–16.30pm,
Fridays,08.00am–13.00pm (off on public holidays)
Lagos: 76 Norman Williams Street, SW Ikoyi, Lagos
Tel: +234-1-270-1919, 1-897-4142

Abuja: Plot 9 Usuma St, Maitama, Abuja
Tel: +234-9-413-0772–3; Fax: +234-9-461-2715
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Kaduna: 3a Kinkino Road, Kaduna
Tel: +234-62-247-705; Fax: +234-62-243-921
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Lagos: Penthouse, Yinka Folawiyo Plaza,
38 Warehouse Road, Apapa, Lagos
Tel: +234-1-470-0252; Fax: +234-1-587-0068
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Abuja: 9 Usuma Street, Maitama, Abuja
Tel: +234-9-413-1859 /60/61/62, 460-2633/34/35
Fax: +234-9-413-2012, 2015/460
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Lagos: c/o Dredging Intern. Serv. Nigeria Ltd,
35A Alfred Rewane Rd (formely Kingsway Rd),
Ikoyi, Lagos. Tel: +234-702-770-4421
Fax: +234-1-463-0897
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Follow this link to see more FOREIGN EMBASSIES IN NIGERIA


Nigerian Embassies Abroad
Embassy of the Fed. Rep. of Nigeria
35, Boulevard De La Republique,
O.I.B.P. 1906, Abidjan,
Tel: 21.19.82/21.23.28/22.30.82
Accra (GHANA)
Nigerian High Commission
Joseph Broz Tito Avenue,
Behind Police Headquarters,
P.O. Box 154, Accra.
Tel: 776158-9
Addis-Ababa (ETHIOPIA)
Embassy of Nigeria
P.O. Box 1019, Addis-Ababa,
Tel: 550644, PBX 552308
Agdat Rabat (MOROCCO)

Embassy of the Rep. of Nigeria
70, Ave. Omar. lbn EI.Khattab
Agdat Rabat, MOROCCO.
Tel: 71856/71857
Algiers (ALGERIA)
Embassy of Nigeria
BP.629, Alger-Gare, Algiers 1600.
Tel; 69 32 78, 69 37 26

Follow this link to see more NIGERIA EMBASSIES ABROAD



Federal Ministry of Finance:

Federal Inland Revenue Service

Central Bank of Nigeria:

Nigeria Customs Service

Standard Organisation of Nigeria

Follow this link fro more Official Websites in Nigeria

System of government

The Federal Government of Nigeria is the federal government for the Federal Republic of Nigeria, a federation in West Africa, composed of 36 states, who share sovereignty with the federal government and 1 federal territory administered solely by the federal government. The federal government is composed of three distinct branches: legislative, executive, and judicial, whose powers are vested by the Constitution of Nigeria in the National Assembly, the President, and the federal courts, including the Supreme Court, respectively.

Nigeria is a federal republic, with executive power exercised by the president. The president is the head of state, the head of government, and the head of a multi-party system. Nigerian politics takes place within a framework of a federal, presidential, representative democratic republic, in which executive power is exercised by the government. Legislative power is held by the real government and the two chambers of the legislature: the House of Representatives and the Senate. Together, the two chambers make up the law-making body in Nigeria, called the National Assembly, which serves as a check on the executive arm of government. The highest judiciary arm of government in Nigeria is the Supreme Court of Nigeria which was created after independence and also practices Baron de Montesquieu's theory of the separation of powers based on the United States system and also practices checks and balance

Legal system

The law of Nigeria is based on the rule of law, the independence of the judiciary, and British common law (due to the long history of British colonial influence). The common law in the legal system is similar to common-law systems used in England and Wales and other Commonwealth countries. The constitutional framework for the legal system is provided by the Constitution of Nigeria.

    English Law, which is derived from its colonial past with Britain;

    Common law, case law development since colonial independence;

    Customary law, which is derived from indigenous traditional norms and practices;

    Sharia law, law used in some states in the northern region.

There is a judicial branch, with the Supreme Court regarded as the highest court of the land

States’ in Nigeria

Nigeria is made up of 36 states and 1 capital territory. They are: the Federal Capital Territory, Abia, Adamawa, Akwa Ibom, Anambra, Bauchi, Bayelsa, Benue, Borno, Cross River, Delta, Ebonyi, Edo, Ekiti, Enugu, Gombe, Imo, Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Kebbi, Kogi, Kwara, Lagos, Nasarawa, Niger, Ogun, Ondo, Osun, Oyo, Plateau, Rivers, Sokoto, Taraba, Yobe, and Zamfara

Local Government

Each state is further divided into Local Government Areas (LGAs). There are 774 LGAs in Nigeria. Kano State has the largest number of LGAs at 44, and Bayelsa State has the fewest at 8. The Federal Capital Territory of Abuja has 6 LGAs. LGAs replaced the Districts that were the previous third-tier administrative units under the British government

Joomla! Debug Console


Profile Information

Memory Usage

Database Queries