States in Nigeria

Written by Adeoye Yusuf Category: Nigeria Last Updated: Tuesday, 01 May 2018 16:21 Hits: 8559

Welcome to Nigeria Travel Digest page about Nigerian States, destinations, popular cities, and local government areas across Nigeria.

We provide links to official Nigerian State governments websites and links to their pages on business and investment policies. Although there are 36 States in Nigeria and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), and each of the State is economically viable, but some have more potentials and investment portfolios. Nigeria is a mineral rich country, from fossil fuel to solid minerals, almost every State in Nigeria is endowed with unique natural resource. Accordingly, these states have evolved investment policies and incentives to attract local and foreign direct investments...


Lagos State was created on May 27, 1967 by virtue of State (Creation and Transitional Provisions) Decree No. 14 of 1967, which restructured Nigeria’s Federation into 12 States. 

Prior to this, Lagos Municipality had been administered by the Federal Government through the Federal Ministry of Lagos Affairs as the regional authority, while the Lagos City Council (LCC) governed the City of Lagos. Equally, the metropolitan areas (Colony Province) of Ikeja, Agege, Mushin, Ikorodu, Epe and Badagry were administered by the Western Region. The State took off as an administrative entity on April 11, 1968 with Lagos Island serving the dual role of being the State and Federal Capital. However, with the creation of the Federal Capital Territory of Abuja in 1976, Lagos Island ceased to be the capital of the State which was moved to Ikeja. Equally, with the formal relocation of the seat of the Federal Government to Abuja on 12 December 1991, Lagos Island ceased to be Nigeria’s political capital. Nevertheless, Lagos remains the center of commerce for the country.

Lagos State is arguably the most viable State in Nigeria and the most populated. The State seats is bordered by the Atlantic Ocean, to the south, Benin Republic to the West, and is surrounded by Ogun State and Oyo State. Lagos State is the commercial capital of Nigeria, akin to New York in the United States. It hosts 95% of corporate organization  head quarters in Nigeria, and is the main primary residence of most foreigners and expats in Nigeria. Give it to Lagos State, it is peaceful, progressive in economic policy and runs the one of the leading State governance system in Nigeria. If you want to invest in Nigeria start by visiting Lagos to see her seaports, international airports and mega-city infrastructure....

Read more about Lagos State here



Cross River State is a coastal state in South Eastern Nigeria, named after the Cross River, which passes through the state. Located in the Niger Delta, Cross River State occupies 20,156 square kilometers. It shares boundaries with Benue State to the north, Enugu and Abia States to the west, to the east by Cameroon Republic and to the south by Akwa-Ibom and the Atlantic Ocean.Cross River State was created on May 27, 1967 from the former Eastern Region, Nigeria by the General Yakubu Gowon regime. Its name was changed to Cross River State in the 1976 state creation exercise by the then General Murtala Mohammed regime from South Eastern State. The present day Akwa Ibom State was excised from it in the state creation exercise of September 1987 by the then regime of General Ibrahim Babangida. Its capital is Calabar. Its major towns are Akamkpa, Biase, Calabar South, Ikom, Obubra, Odukpani, Ogoja, Ugep, Obudu, Obanliku and Akpabuyo.

Cross River is the tourism capital of Nigeria. The state host the best tourist receiving program in Nigeria today. There a diversity to tourists activities from the internationally acclaimed Obudu Mountain Resort to the famous Calabar Festival held every December. The people of Cross River are nationally accepted to be very hospitable and fun-loving. You can hardly be bored in Cross River State. It is a clean and green, all the way.

Follow this link to read more about Cross River State



Historically, Kano State has been a commercial and agricultural state, which is known for the production of groundnuts as well as for its solid mineral deposits. The state has more than 18,684 square kilometres (7,214 sq mi) of cultivable land and is the most extensively irrigated state in the country. Foreign investments and investors can be seen all over the city. It is the second largest state in terms of commercial activity within Nigeria and the second most populous state in the country.

Kano also has traditionally received the largest proportion of centrally collected (mostly oil) revenues. From 1990-96 Kano received 10.9% of allocated revenue. Kano's once booming manufacturing sector has been stagnant over the last 15 years. Largely due to volatile power supply. Plans are being considered to build a Nuclear Power Station in the North-Eastern region of Nigeria. The plant is to be fueled from Uranium mined in neighbouring Gombe state and supplied over a rail network. Kano State is very investment friendly.
It is the largest trading post in North-Central West Africa, on a parallel from Nigeria to Senegal. Because of its geographic location and predominance of Islamic culture, the state attracts constant inflow of itinerary traders, thus is the hob for distribution of agricultural goods to Southern Nigeria, North Africa (the Sahara) and West Africa.

Follow this link to read more about Kano State


Rivers State is one of the 36 states of Nigeria. Its capital is Port Harcourt. It is bounded on the South by the Atlantic Ocean, to the North by Imo, Abia and Anambra States, to the East by Akwa Ibom State and to the West by Bayelsa and Delta states. Rivers state is home to many ethnic groups: Ikwerre, Igbo, Ijaw, Kalabari, Etche, Ogba, Ogoni and others.


The inland part of Rivers state consists of tropical rainforest; towards the coast the typical Niger Delta environment features many mangrove swamps. Rivers state, named after the many rivers that border its territory, was part of the Oil Rivers Protectorate from 1885 till 1893, when it became part of the Niger Coast Protectorate. In 1900 the region was merged with the chartered territories of the Royal Niger Company to form the colony of Southern Nigeria. The state was formed in 1967 with the split of the Eastern Region of Nigeria. Until 1996 the state contained the area which is now in the Bayelsa State.

Rivers State is the hot-bed of Nigeria's crude oil production and international distribution. The State host all the oil companies in Nigeria. So for investors interested in the oil and gas sector in Nigeria, Rivers State is definitely the place to start from. Although there are minor incidents of youth restiveness, due to the Niger Delta militancy, but the situated has abated since an 'amnesty' was granted to the youth.

Follow this link to read more about Rivers State

Joomla! Debug Console


Profile Information

Memory Usage

Database Queries